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PRESIDENT’S MESSAGE 
 
I have enjoyed and appreciated my almost 4 years of 
service on the Idaho State Board.  It is an experience 
that I strongly recommend to every veterinarian.  This 
experience has given me a new insight into a 
completely different side of veterinary medicine.  The 
things we never thought about like the amount of time, 
effort and process it takes to make a statute change and 
how much time and energy is spent on the budget of 
our small agency.  It is not like the private sector 
where if you need something you just go get it.   
 
Most importantly, I have truly enjoyed working with 
some of the finest people on this veterinary board.  I 
do not have time to give all of them a personal shout 
out, however, I am going to let everyone know that 
Dave Schulz, our current liaison officer, has left some 
big shoes to fill.  Dave has worked hard to make the 
board the best it can be, and has brought accounting 
experience, which has been extremely valuable in all 
of our budget work.  Thanks Dave for your service.  
Thank you to our tireless staff of Karen Ewing and 
Carol Youtz; it has been a pleasure. 

 
I would like to welcome our newest public member 
Kathy Simpson.  Kathy has replaced Joyceanne Fick, 
although I am quite sure we have not seen the last of 
Joyceanne.  Her continued support of the board will be 
appreciated.   
 
I wish everyone melting snow and greener pastures.  
Have a great spring and summer. 
 
Doug Walker, DVM 
 
 

 

INTRODUCING KATHY SIMPSON 
 

Kathy Simpson is the Board’s new public member. She 
graduated from Utah State University in Logan, Utah in 
1972 with a BS degree from the College of Family Life; 
a composite major which includes food and nutrition, 
early childhood development, textiles, and interior 
design.  As a native Idahoan, she grew up on a farm in 
Blackfoot, Idaho where she developed a love for animals 
early in life doing various chores associated with the 
family dairy, livestock operation and crop production.  
 
Kathy has been working at the Idaho National Laboratory 
in Idaho Falls for the past 20 years where she’s held 
several positions, the most recent of which has been in 
workplace planning and interior design. 
 
Kathy is no stranger to community service and has been 
actively involved with fund raising for the Idaho Meth 
Project.  Kathy and her husband are ardent dog lovers 
and she is looking forward to this opportunity to serve on 
the Board.  
 
******************************************** 

DID YOU KNOW? 
 
As of March 8, 2012, Rule 154 regarding 
recordkeeping now includes the following:  
 
“If changes are made to any records (either hard-
copy or electronic), the records must clearly 
reflect what the change is, who made the change, 
when the change was made, and why.”  
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REFILLING PRESCRIPTIONS 
 
Veterinarians commonly dispense prescription drugs 
meant to maintain animal health over a period of time; 
the number of refills allowed is documented in the 
patient medical record by the attending veterinarian. The 
client then contacts the veterinary hospital to make 
arrangements to pick up medication refills, as needed. 
 
If a veterinarian authorizes prescription drug refills for a 
patient, and notes it in the patient chart, the non-
veterinarian clinic staff must have a licensed staff 
veterinarian authorize each refill before it can be 
prepared for the client. Prescription refill approval cannot 
be delegated to non-veterinarian staff. 
 
When a veterinarian dispenses a prescription drug, the 
veterinary hospital is acting as a pharmacy. Just as 
pharmacy technicians at human pharmacies cannot 
dispense medication without the pharmacist’s express 
review and approval, non-veterinarian clinic staff cannot 
dispense prescription drugs/controlled substances 
without the supervising veterinarian’s express 
authorization. 
******************************************** 

CLIENT DRUG COUNSELING REQUIRED 
 
A new Idaho Board of Pharmacy (IBOP) statute became 
effective July 1, 2011 (Idaho Code Section 54-1739). The 
new statute requires drug review and counseling when a 
new prescription is dispensed to a client; this counseling 
must also be offered for all refills. Only a licensed 
veterinarian may perform the required client counseling. 
Read the new statute at: 
http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title54/T54CH17SEC
T54-1739.htm 
 
Counseling is defined in IBOP statute as the effective 
communication of information to the patient or caregiver 
including but not limited to: 
a) Name and strength and description of the medication; 
b) Route of administration, dosage, dosage form, 
continuity of therapy and refill information; 
c) Special directions and precautions for preparation, 
administration, storage, and use by the patient as deemed 
necessary by the pharmacist; 
d) Side effects or adverse effects and interactions and 
therapeutic contraindications that may be encountered, 
including their avoidance, which may interfere with the  
proper use of the medication or device as was intended 
by the prescriber, and the action required if they occur; 
e) Techniques for self-monitoring drug therapy; and 
f) Action to be taken in the event of a missed dose. 

 
The IBOP’s rule 105 requires that veterinarians 
document their client drug counseling in a manner that 
provides sufficient evidence of compliance. 
 
Any questions on statutes or rules of the Idaho Board of 
Pharmacy should be directed to IBOP personnel in Boise 
at (208) 334-2356. 
 
******************************************** 

NEW LATE FEES FOR RENEWALS 
 

Increased late fees were recently implemented for all 
licensees and certificate holders. Veterinarians will now 
pay a $200 late fee if their renewal forms are received at 
the Board office with a postmark of July 1 or later. To 
avoid the late fee, please ensure your completed renewal 
form and payment is postmarked June 30 or prior.  Be 
aware that June 30 is on a Saturday this year. 
 
Certified Veterinary Technicians (CVTs) will pay a 
late fee of $50. As indicated above, a postmark of June 
30 or before will prevent you from paying the late fee. 
 
The late fees were increased substantially to act as a 
deterrent for late renewals and individuals practicing 
without licenses or certificates. Should the new late fee 
not prevent these issues, the Board will discuss the filing 
of formal disciplinary actions against those veterinarians 
and CVTs who continue to practice with expired licenses 
and certificates.  
 
Renewal forms are mailed to each licensee and 
certificate holder in early May; this allows nearly seven 
(7) weeks to complete the form and return it with 
payment. Many veterinarians and CVTs complete their 
renewal forms and then delegate the renewal payment 
and mailing to another person, such as a spouse, 
employer, or office manager.  
 
Please be aware that if your delegated individual does not 
return your renewal form with a June 30 or prior 
postmark, you will be responsible to pay the late fee. 
Plan to follow up with your delegated person before the 
deadline. 
********************************************** 

DEA REGISTRATIONS 
 
The Federal Controlled Substances Act requires that a 
separate DEA registration be obtained for each principal 
place of business or professional practice where 
controlled substances are manufactured, distributed, or 
dispensed.  

http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title54/T54CH17SECT54-1739.htm
http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title54/T54CH17SECT54-1739.htm
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DEA Registrations continued... 
For example, a veterinarian operating two (2) veterinary 
hospitals must hold separate DEA registrations for each 
location if he or she is administering, distributing, or 
dispensing controlled substances at both veterinary 
hospital locations. 
 
If a veterinarian operating more than one (1) veterinary 
hospital administers, dispenses, or distributes controlled 
substances at the location shown on the DEA 
registration, and merely prescribes controlled substances 
at the other veterinary hospital locations, a separate DEA 
registration is not required for the other locations. 
 
This exception applies only to a secondary location 
within the same state in which the practitioner maintains 
his or her DEA registration. DEA individual practitioner 
registrations are based on state authority to dispense or 
conduct research with respect to controlled substances. 
Since a DEA registration is based on a state license, it 
cannot authorize controlled substance dispensing outside 
that state. The separate registration exception applies 
only to locations within the same state in which 
practitioners have their DEA registrations.  
 
******************************************** 

SOFTWARE FOR ONLINE RENEWALS 
 
The Board is in the process of purchasing new licensing 
and regulatory software. The new software will allow for 
online license and certificate renewals, as well as add 
many self-service options for licensees and certificate 
holders. 
 
To save money and increase purchasing efficiency, the 
Board has collaborated with the Idaho Boards of 
Medicine, Dentistry, and Pharmacy, along with the 
Bureau of Occupational Licenses, to conduct a group 
licensing software purchase. The Board of Veterinary 
Medicine has budgeted $40,000 for the initial purchase, 
with $12,000 per year in software maintenance fees. 
Pharmacy and Medicine have budgeted $250,000 each, 
Dentistry $57,000, and the Bureau of Occupational 
Licensing has budgeted $1,250,000. As you can see, 
licensing software is an extremely expensive product! 
 
To purchase new software, the Board must go through 
the State of Idaho’s mandated purchasing process. This 
can be a cumbersome and time-consuming procedure. 
We are currently starting the “Request for Proposals” 
(RFP) phase, in which a public notice containing the 
software standards will be published to solicit interested 
software providers. We will review the responses, and 

select the top performers to demonstrate the features of 
their software. Once a company has been awarded the 
contract, the software must be customized. 
 
Due to the length of the required State purchasing 
process, the Board is hopeful it will have new software in 
time for the 2013 renewal period. However, it is possible 
that implementation will not occur until 2014. Online 
renewals will increase office efficiency, reduce errors, 
and provide for credit card payments. We will keep you 
posted on our progress. 
 

 

 
DID YOU KNOW? 

 
Certified Veterinary Technicians (CVTs), veterinary 
technicians, and veterinary assistants are not allowed to 
suture or staple surgical incisions or wounds. The Board 
considers this to be surgery, and only a licensed 
veterinarian may perform these procedures. 
 
In addition, only a licensed veterinarian may extract 
animal teeth in the state of Idaho. As has been frequently 
written in past newsletters, delegation of teeth extractions 
to anyone except a licensed veterinarian is grounds for a 
formal disciplinary action. 
 
It takes only one complaint for this practice to be 
revealed. The Board has received multiple complaints 
regarding small animal dental procedures; these 
complaints have specifically regarded extractions 
  
******************************************** 

COMPLAINT STATISTICS 
 

FY2010, FY2011, and PARTIAL FY2012 
 
(FY2012 covers July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2012) 
 2010 2011 2012 
All types of written 
complaints (including 
unlicensed practice, 
accreditation violations, 
no jurisdiction) 

39 17 21 

Formal client complaints 23 14 18 
Complaints dismissed 12 9 5 
Discipline settlements 5 1 1 
Administrative hearings 1 0 0 
Letters of caution and 
warning letters 

9 1 3 

Cease and Desist letters 12 2 4 
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EXAM PRIOR TO VACCINATION 

 
The Board staff frequently receives questions 
regarding Administrative Rule 46.01.01.153.01.b. The 
specific wording of the rule is as follows:  
 

 “When the primary objective is to protect the 
animal patient’s health and a professionally 
acceptable immunization procedure is being 
sought, an examination of the animal by the 
veterinarian is required prior to each and every 
immunization procedure, unless the animal has 
been examined in the last ninety (90) days, 
except in the practice of large animal medicine 
where mass immunizations of animal herds is 
involved or when immunization is performed by 
the animal patient’s owner...” 

 
A common question regards the statement, “...unless 
the animal has been examined in the last ninety (90) 
days...” If you or your colleague at the same veterinary 
hospital have examined the animal in the last ninety 
(90) days, another exam is not required prior to 
vaccination. If the prior exam was done at a different 
veterinary hospital, the ninety (90) day exception does 
not apply, as a new exam is needed to establish a valid 
veterinarian/client/patient relationship. 
 
******************************************* 
RABIES VACCINATION CONFIDENTIALITY 

 
An issue that creates many questions regards 
confidentiality of rabies vaccination records in the 
event of an animal bite. Idaho’s Administrative Rule 
IDAPA 46.01.01.151.08 under the Code of 
Professional Conduct states, “Confidentiality. A 
veterinarian shall maintain a confidential relationship 
with his clients, except as otherwise provided by law 
or required by considerations related to public health 
and animal health.” 
 
When an animal bites a human or another animal, 
rabies is always a prime public health consideration. It 
is vital that law enforcement and animal control 
officials, attending medical professionals, or public 
health officials requesting verification of rabies 
vaccination status be provided this information 
without delay.  
 
It is not necessary to request the animal owner’s 
permission to share rabies vaccination status with the 
above-listed professionals. 

INTRACARDIAC INJECTIONS 
 
Intracardiac injections administered to conscious 
animals for euthanasia cause great pain, distress, and 
suffering; this action violates the standards set forth in 
the Idaho Veterinary Practice Act. 
 
Intracardiac injections should be used only as a last 
resort, and only on an unconscious, comatose, or 
anesthetized animal that does not have a blink reflex or 
a withdrawal reflex when the skin or web of the back 
toes is firmly pinched. A dying animal in agonal status 
with no blood pressure may be euthanized using an 
intracardiac injection. An intraperitoneal euthanasia 
injection is also within the standard of care if no veins 
are viable for an IV injection. 
 
If you are in a position where an intracardiac injection 
is indicated for an owner-witnessed euthanasia, please 
ensure that you explain the process to the owner so 
there are no surprises. Most clients are only familiar 
with IV euthanasia, and may be shocked by an 
intracardiac injection. 
 
The Board has seen an increase in the number of 
complaints regarding euthanasia procedures. The Board 
recommends that each veterinary hospital develop a 
specific written euthanasia protocol that is followed for 
each euthanasia procedure. To prepare your client, the 
protocol should also include a client education element 
that provides an explanation of the euthanasia process 
and any possible complications that might occur. This 
prepares your client in the event of problems. 
 
********************************************* 

PRACTICE PROCEDURES 
 

The Board advises each veterinarian to offer clients 
your best recommendations regarding diagnostics and 
treatment. These recommendations are then noted in 
the patient record. If the client declines the 
recommended diagnostics and course of treatment, this 
refusal must be documented in the patient record as 
well. 
 
In the event of a client complaint, documentation of 
your recommendations, and the client’s denial, is vital. 
To advance its mission of public protection, the Board 
works under the following premise: “If it is not 
documented in the medical record, it did not 
happen.”
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NEW RULES FOR 2012 
 
The Board submitted fee and non-fee rules to the 
2012 legislature for approval. Following is a list of 
the rules that became effective March 29, 2012: 
 

Fee Rule Changes: 
The Board proposed fee increases in nearly all 
licensing and certification categories; all new fees 
have been implemented as follows: 
 
Veterinarians:  
New application  $275 
Active renewal       175 
Inactive renewal      50 
Temporary permit    150 
Inactive to active conversion     150 
License verification:      20 
Late fee     200 
 
Certified Veterinary Technicians: 
New application  $125 
Renewal       75 
Certification verification     20 
Late fee       50 
 
Certified Euthanasia Agencies: 
New application  $100 
Renewal     200 
Late fee       50 
 
Certified Euthanasia Technicians: 
New application  $100 
Renewal     100 
Late fee       50 
 

Non-fee Rule Changes: 
Rule 016 requiring that the Board evaluate eligibility 
of national veterinary exam candidates was removed 
in its entirety to correspond with a 2011 statute 
change. 

 
Rule 154 was revised to add a requirement that 
changes to medical records must contain specific 
documentation. (See page 1 of this newsletter in the 
“Did You Know?” section.) 
 
Rule 154.05 regarding ownership of patient records, 
and transfers of patient records was revised to 
remove the requirement that veterinarians secure a 
written release to document a request for a transfer 
of patient record copies. A verbal request will now 
suffice. 

INTRODUCING MARCIA MATSUURA, DVM 
CERTIFIED EUTHANASIA TASK FORCE 

 
On April 23, 2012, the Board voted to appoint Dr. Marcia 
Matsuura to the Certified Euthanasia Task Force (CETF). 
Dr. Matsuura’s term of service began April 24, 2012 and 
will end April 23, 2015. She will cover the eastern side of 
Idaho. 
 
CETF Chair Dr. Rena Carlson-Lammers will complete her 
third term of CETF service on October 15, 2012. The 
overlap in eastern Idaho CETF appointments will allow 
Dr. Matsuura to be mentored by Dr. Carlson-Lammers in 
instructing Certified Euthanasia Technician (CET) 
training courses, performing Certified Euthanasia Agency 
(CEA) inspections, writing CET exams and training 
manuals, making recommendations on CEA/CET 
certifications, and other associated duties. 
 
The Board sincerely thanks Dr. Carlson-Lammers for her 
outstanding CETF service, and welcomes Dr. Matsuura to 
the CETF. The CETF has made tremendous progress to 
upgrade this important program and provide consistency 
in training and inspections. 
 
******************************************** 

CALLS TO THE BOARD OFFICE 
 
Board office personnel receive many different types of 
phone calls from licensees and certificate holders, as well 
as from the general public. Common calls from licensees 
and certificate holders regard the following: 
1. When is my CE due? This depends on when you 
received your original license or certificate. CE must be 
reported every other year. 
2. How much CE do I need? Veterinarians must report a 
minimum of twenty (20) CE credits every two (2) years; 
CVTs must submit at least fourteen (14) CE credits every 
two (2) years. 
3. How many CE credits can be earned in approved 
online courses? Veterinarians may earn a maximum of 
fifteen (15) CE credits online, and CVTs may earn a 
maximum of ten (10) CE credits online. 
4. Is this CE course approved? The Board accepts all 
RACE-approved CE, and the Board and its staff also review 
and approve local and regional CE if it meets the Board’s 
approval criteria. 
5. Who do I contact for radiograph equipment 
inspections? Contact Dave Eisentrager at the Dept. of 
Health and Welfare, Bureau of Laboratories in Boise at (208) 
334-2235 ext. 245. 
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“Calls to the Board Office” continued from page 5... 
 
6. Who can help me with Rabies quarantine 
information in the event of an animal bite? 
Contact the Idaho State Department of Agriculture, 
Division of Animal Industries in Boise at (208) 332-
8540. 
7. How do I help my upset clients understand 
that I must perform an examination of their pets 
prior to vaccination? A client can be given a copy of 
the rule that requires an exam prior to vaccination. 
This is addressed in rule number 153.01.b, which can 
be accessed at the following web address: 
http://adminrules.idaho.gov/rules/current/46/0101.pdf 
If your client is still upset, please refer him or her to 
the Board office.  
8. Can I sell “Bute” to a non-client who is headed 
to the mountains and wants to be prepared in 
case his horse goes lame? No. Prescription drugs 
may only be sold within the context of a valid 
veterinarian/client/patient relationship (VCPR).  
9. I forgot to renew my license/certificate and now 
it has lapsed. Do I have to reapply? Yes. Idaho 
Code requires reapplication as if you had never been 
licensed in this state. All licenses and certificates 
expire June 30th of each year. An expired 
license/certificate may be reinstated in the month of 
July by paying the renewal fee plus the late fee. (You 
cannot practice on an expired license or certificate.) If 
your renewal form, renewal fee, and late fee are not 
postmarked by July 31, your license or certificate will 
lapse, and will not be reinstated. 
10. Are my CVTs and assistants allowed to 
express anal glands? If so, under what level of 
supervision? Yes, anal gland expression can be 
delegated. The Board has determined that it can occur 
under indirect supervision. This means the supervising 
veterinarian is not on the premises, but has examined 
the animal, given either written or oral instructions to 
the CVT or assistant, remains available by telephone, 
radio, or other means, and the animal, if previously 
anesthetized, has recovered to the point of being 
conscious and sternal. The veterinarian remains 
responsible for the delegated task, and must not 
delegate to an unqualified individual. 
11. I am aware of an unlicensed person who is 
offering veterinary services to the public. What 
can I do? If you have direct knowledge regarding 
unlicensed practice, file a complaint with the Board 
office. We will then conduct an investigation. If your 
knowledge is second-hand, find out if there is a person 

with direct knowledge who is willing to file a 
complaint. 
12. If I have purchased veterinary products, for 
which the manufacturer has voluntarily limited 
the sale to veterinarians as a marketing decision, 
am I allowed to sell them to a reseller, such as 
Costco, Walmart, or an online pharmacy? No. 
This is prohibited by the Principles of Veterinary 
Medical Ethics of the AVMA, VI.D. Unethical 
veterinarians that are supplying these products to third-
party resellers are in violation of Idaho law. This can 
apply to non-prescription items such as flea and tick 
products. The Idaho Veterinary Practice Act 
additionally prohibits the use, distribution, 
dispensation, prescription, or sale of prescription drugs 
and controlled substances without a valid VCPR.  
13. If I drive while impaired and get a DUI, 
should I answer “yes” on veterinary renewal 
form question number 18 or CVT renewal form 
question number 14 that says, “Since your last 
license or renewal application, have you been, or 
are you now addicted to or used in excess, any 
drug or chemical substance, including alcohol? 
Yes. If you are cited for a DUI, it means that you used 
alcohol or other substances in excess under Idaho law. 
Include a signed and notarized affidavit explaining the 
situation, and provide copies of the applicable court 
documents. 
14. A client left his animal at my veterinary 
hospital and won’t return my calls. What are my 
rights? Abandonment of animals left with a 
veterinarian is covered under Idaho Code section 25-
3512. Read the specific conditions of the law at 
http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title25/T25CH35SE
CT25-3512.htm 
15. My veterinary hospital is overflowing with 
old patient records and radiographs. How long 
do I have to retain these medical records? 
Administrative Rule 154 says, “Records shall be 
maintained for a period of three (3) years following 
the last treatment or examination.” 
16. My colleague at another veterinary hospital 
ran out of a certain prescription medication and 
she wants to send the client to me to get the drug. 
Am I allowed to fill another veterinarian’s 
prescription? Yes. Under Idaho Board of Pharmacy 
statute 54-1732 (4), a veterinarian may fill another 
veterinarian’s prescription. The veterinarian filling the 
prescription must simply ensure that there is a valid 
VCPR between the client and the veterinarian who 
wrote the prescription. 

http://adminrules.idaho.gov/rules/current/46/0101.pdf
http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title25/T25CH35SECT25-3512.htm
http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title25/T25CH35SECT25-3512.htm


 

Idaho Board of Veterinary Medicine Newsletter – May 2012                                         Page 7 of 10 

IDAHO RABIES PROTOCOL 
 

A committee consisting of representatives from the 
Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, the Idaho 
District Health Departments, the Idaho Department of 
Agriculture, and the Idaho Department of Fish and 
Game, with input from the USDA, prepared a protocol 
to be followed in Idaho for rabies prevention and 
control. 
 
The last update to the Idaho Rabies Protocol: Protocol 
for Animal  Isolation,  Animal Bites, and Rabies Post-
exposure  Prophylaxis  was finalized on July 10, 2007. 
This   document   is   available   in  its  entirety  at  the 
following web address: 
http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Portals/0/Heal
th/Disease/RabiesProtocol2007[1].pdf 
 
It is important that veterinarians practicing in Idaho 
familiarize themselves with the rabies protocol. 
Questions can be directed to the Idaho Department of 
Health and Welfare, Office of Epidemiology, in Boise 
at (208) 334-5939, or to the Idaho Department of 
Agriculture, Division of Animal Industries, in Boise at 
(208) 332-8540. 
 
Another important document regarding rabies is the 
Compendium of Animal Rabies Prevention and 
Control. This document is prepared annually by the 
National Association of State Public Health 
Veterinarians, Inc. The most recent edition was 
published May 31, 2011.  
 
The recommendations in the compendium serve as a 
basis for animal rabies prevention and control 
programs throughout the United States. This allows for 
standardization of procedures among various 
jurisdictions, which enhances an effective national 
rabies control program. The current compendium can 
be viewed at the following website: 
http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/RabiesCompendiu
m.pdf 
 
There is no current overarching Idaho State law that 
requires rabies vaccinations in cats and dogs. 
However, many Idaho cities and counties have local 
ordinances requiring rabies vaccination. 

 

2013 STATUTE CHANGE PROPOSALS 
 
At its meeting on April 23, 2012, the Board 
discussed statute changes that will be presented to 
the 2013 legislature. Following is a listing of the 
proposed changes: 
 
Idaho Code § 54-2103. Definitions: 
(9)(b): The Board will remove this section as it 
allows an individual who was trained in 
euthanasia methods prior to December 31, 1992 
to become a Certified Euthanasia Technician 
(CET). This statute was put into place when the 
Board’s certified euthanasia program began in 
1993. It is no longer valid and must be removed. 
 
Idaho Code § 54-2103. Definitions: 
(46): The Board received a call from an attorney 
for the AVMA indicating that a citation in Idaho 
statute that defines “veterinary technician” is 
incorrect. The current statute speaks of a 
veterinary technology program accredited by the 
“council on education of the AVMA”; this 
citation will be changed to the “Committee on 
Veterinary Technician Education and Activities”. 
 
Idaho Code § 54-2107. License Application-
Contents-Fee. 
(8) The Board will add a phrase to indicate that all 
application and first year’s license fees are non-
refundable. In addition, in the final section of this 
statute, refunds will not be issued when 
applications are voluntarily withdrawn or are 
denied by the Board. This will allow the Board to 
recover its expenses for the time and materials 
spent on application processing. Otherwise, all 
existing licensees absorb these costs. 
 
**************************************** 

2013 RULE CHANGE PROPOSALS 
 
The Board also discussed several rule changes for 
presentation to the 2013 legislature as follows: 
 

Administrative Rule 004: The    Board’s generic 
email   address   will   be   added,   as   well as its 
website.   In   addition,   procedures   for filing of 
rulemaking or contested case documents by email 
will be added.

http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Portals/0/Health/Disease/RabiesProtocol2007%5b1%5d.pdf
http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Portals/0/Health/Disease/RabiesProtocol2007%5b1%5d.pdf
http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/RabiesCompendium.pdf
http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/RabiesCompendium.pdf
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2013 RULE CHANGE PROPOSALS 
CONTINUED... 

 
Administrative Rule 005 (a): This rule 
incorporates the Principles of Veterinary Medical 
Ethics of the AVMA by reference, which gives the 
AVMA Ethics the force of rule. The version 
currently incorporated by reference was approved 
by the AVMA in April 2008. The AVMA has a 
new version dated November 2010; this rule will 
be revised to incorporate the new edition. 
 
Administrative Rule 100: Refunds for Certified 
Veterinary Technician (CVT) applicants will be 
removed. A phrase will be added to 100.02.a to 
clearly state “All application and certification fees 
are nonrefundable”. In section 100.02.b, refunds 
will be removed for CVT applicants whose 
applications are denied; in section 100.02.c, 
refunds will be removed for CVT applicants 

     who withdraw their applications. As with the 
     statute change for veterinarians, this will 
     reimburse the Board of the time spent on 
     processing new CVT applications that are then  
     withdrawn or denied. 
 

Administrative Rules 204, 205, 206, and 207: 
Certified Euthanasia Program 
The Certified Euthanasia Task Force (CETF) 
has reviewed all certified euthanasia rules, and 
has proposed several changes to provide more 
clarity for certified euthanasia technicians 
(CETs). Reuse of needles and syringes will no 
longer be permitted; labeling and recordkeeping 
sections will be rearranged and made consistent 
with other areas of the euthanasia rules. In 
addition, the grounds for discipline for CETs 
will be revised to address misrepresentation on 
applications, in addition to addressing various 
issues related to potential substance abuse.

********************************************************************************** 
********************************************************************************** 

 
UPDATE: IDAHO BOARD OF PHARMACY RULES AND STATUTES 

Mark Johnston, Executive Director 
 

The legislature repealed all existing Board of Pharmacy (Board) rules and approved an entirely new set in 
2012, to become effective upon the closing of the legislative session.  One new area of Board registration is 
termed the Prescriber Drug Outlet and is defined as: “A drug outlet in which prescription drugs or 
devices are dispensed directly to patients under the supervision of a prescriber, except where delivery is 
accomplished only through on-site administration or the provision of drug samples.”   
 
It is important to note that administering and prescribing are not included in this definition and thus do not 
require registration as a drug outlet.  These rules only pertain to prescribers who dispense, which is defined 
as: “the preparation and delivery of a prescription drug…in a suitable container appropriately labeled…”.   
 
Prescriber drug outlets are required to pay a $35 fee with registration, renew annually, and post their 
registration conspicuously.  Please note that only one registration per facility is required, not per prescriber 
within the facility. Prescriber drug outlets are required to abide by applicable general practice standard 
rules, including the following: 
 
1) Drugs must be stored in accordance with USP-NF requirements in an area maintained and secured 
appropriately to safeguard product integrity and protect against product theft or diversion.  The link to the 
USP-NF web site is: http://www.usp.org/usp-nf  
 
2) Expired, deteriorated, adulterated, damaged, or contaminated drugs must be removed from stock and 
isolated for return, reclamation, or destruction. 
 
      
 

http://www.usp.org/usp-nf
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BOARD OF PHARMACY ARTICLE CONTINUED... 
3) Prescription drugs must be dispensed in packaging materials that preserve their integrity, cleanliness, 
and potency. 
 
4) Once removed from the premises from which it was dispensed, a drug must not be accepted for return, 
unless it meets several requirements, including being unit dose packaged.  
 
5) Each controlled substance registrant must maintain a current, complete, and accurate record of each 
controlled substance manufactured, imported, received, ordered, sold, delivered, exported, dispensed, or 
otherwise disposed of by the registrant. 
 
6) A potential recipient of a controlled substance must first be positively identified, via a government 
issued ID, or the controlled substance must not be dispensed.  Exceptions include the dispensing being paid 
for by an insurer, dispensing to institutionalized patients, and if the patient is personally and positively 
known. Documentation requirements exist.  
 
7) Documentation must be created and retained sufficient to evidence compliance with the offer to counsel 
and the counseling requirements of 2011 changes to Section 54-1739, Idaho Code, which also require a 
prospective drug review with each dispensing. Said terms are defined in Section 54-1705, Idaho Code. 
 
The DEA has required a biannual controlled substance inventory for decades.  As per existing statute 37-
2720, the Board may enforce DEA inventory and record keeping requirements.  In 2011 however, Idaho 
started requiring an annual controlled substance inventory. The Board encourages prescribers
to read the DEA’s Practitioner Manual available at:   
http://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/pubs/manuals/pract/index.html. 
 
Some prescribers may be utilizing Automated Dispensing and Storage Systems (ADS),   which are defined 
as mechanical systems that perform operations or activities, other than compounding or administration, 
relative to the storage, packaging, dispensing, or distribution of drugs and that collect, control, and 
maintain transaction information.  ADS are subject to extensive regulation and require additional 
registration. Additionally, some prescribers may be engaging in sterile product preparation, which requires 
a separate registration and an onsite Board inspection prior to engaging in such activity.  
 
Specific rule language can be found on the Board’s web site: www.accessidaho/bop.org/. Questions can be 
directed to the Board by e-mailing info@bop.idaho.gov or by calling (208) 334-2356.  
 

*********************************************************************************
Idaho State Dept. of Agriculture  

Division of Animal Industries  
Information and Update 

Idaho State Veterinarian – Dr. Bill Barton 
Phone: (208) 332-8540 

 
Idaho’s brucellosis rules have been amended to 
officially define the Idaho Designated Surveillance 
Area (DSA) for brucellosis. Idaho’s DSA for 
brucellosis is located on our eastern border adjacent to 
Yellowstone National Park and includes parts of 
Teton, Bonneville, Fremont and Caribou counties.  
Intact cattle and domestic bison leaving the DSA must 
have official individual identification such as USDA 
-approved tags (but not market backtags), which are 
traceable to state and farm of origin.  RFID 840 tags or 

Orange or Silver metal eartags will meet this 
requirement. ‘Test eligible’ cattle and domestic bison 
that are, or have been located in the DSA between 
January 1 and January 15 of any year must have a 
negative brucellosis test within thirty (30) days prior 
to leaving the DSA or prior to change of ownership. 
Please call our office for more information.  
 
Import Requirements for Idaho cattle and bison  
have been put in place by Colorado, Nebraska, 
Minnesota and South Dakota.  Sexually intact 
cattle/bison need to be individually identified and be 
accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection 
(CVI).  In addition, Minnesota requires a negative 
brucellosis test within 30 days on intact Idaho cattle 
and bison > 12 months of age. South Dakota 

http://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/pubs/manuals/pract/index.html
http://www.accessidaho/bop.org/
mailto:info@bop.idaho.gov
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requires a negative brucellosis test on all intact 
Idaho cattle and bison 18 mos. of age and older 
within 30 days prior to import. If moving directly to 
slaughter, animals still need to be identified as 
described above, but do not need the CVI.  Call the 
state veterinarian’s office in the state of destination for 
more information or guidance.  
 
Idaho Reportable Animal Diseases List is contained 
in the Division of Animal Industries Rules: IDAPA 
02.04.03, which can be found on our website at 
www.agri.idaho.gov under Laws & Rules in the Green 
Banner > Rules in the navigation list on the left. Then 
select the blue web-link IDAPA 02.04 Animals >  
02.04.03 Animal Industries.   
 
For Idaho Animal Importation Requirements-click 
blue web-link 02.04.21 Rules Governing the 
Importation of Animals. Please call the Division of 
Animal Industries or stop by our office if you would 
like a printed copy of these rules.   
 
The Idaho State Dept. of Agriculture Animal Health 
Lab (AHL) provides regulatory and diagnostic testing 
(including bacteriology) services to Idaho 
veterinarians.  A services and fee list may be found on 
the AHL webpage at www.agri.idaho.gov  under 
Animals > Animal Health Lab.  The AHL has 
expanded molecular services to include several 
polymerase chain reaction (PCR) assays.  Currently we 
offer PCR for BVDV (bovine viral diarrhea virus), 
cattle trichomoniasis (T. foetus), and Johne’s disease, 
with Equine Herpes Virus – 1 (EHV-1) coming soon.  
  
Demand for T. foetus qPCR has greatly increased, 
but the AHL has recently acquired a new machine that 
has more than doubled our Trich PCR run capacity and 
has lowered our cost of processing samples. Still, you 
may wish to call to see what day we expect results on 
your samples.  The AHL would appreciate a call if you 
plan to submit  >25 pouches for T. foetus PCR testing  
(or 25 samples of any kind, actually).  
 
The Trich culture reading proficiency test for 
‘Trich’ veterinarians and technicians newly certified 
last year will be sent out in June.  Please call the AHL 
if you will need a proficiency test or have any 
questions about the program or testing.   
 
Courier service to the AHL for delivery of samples 
from several points in Eastern/Western Idaho and from 
Idaho Equine Hospital in Nampa is available.  Call the 
AHL 208-332-8570 for pick-up points and cost.  

Samples for regulatory testing must be securely 
submitted to the lab to ensure the USDA chain-of –
custody requirement.                                                                                                                                         
 
The 2012 USDA Veterinary Accreditation Seminar 
is scheduled for Monday, June 25, 2012. (Continuing 
education credits will be offered.) If you haven’t filled 
out the new Accreditation Program application, please 
go to the USDA Veterinary Services website at 
www.aphis.usda.gov  and follow the directions to 
make sure you remain accredited to perform regulatory 
work for State-Federal Disease Control Programs 
(EIA, TB, brucellosis, interstate health certificates, 
etc.).  When completing official program forms 
(vaccination or testing), or submitting samples, all 
required information must be filled in on official forms 
including animal identification. USDA VS office - 
(208) 378-5631 
 
The State Veterinarian’s Office has approved the use 
of GlobalVetLink (GVL) Electronic Interstate 
Certificates of Veterinary Inspection (ICVI), 
commonly known as health certificates, for all species. 
GVLs eHealth documents are approved to move 
animals into all 50 states, plus 3 U.S. territories. 
Contact GVL by phone at 515-296-0860, or see their 
website at www.globalvetlink.com to sign your 
practice on to the system. The Animal Health Lab has 
capability to process GVL electronic EIA (equine 
infectious anemia) certificates, too.  
 
Idaho Veterinary Emergency Response Team 
(IVERT) is a cadre of potential veterinary responders 
to foreign animal diseases (FADs) if detected in Idaho. 
Veterinarians and certified veterinary technicians may 
receive continuing education credits for most IVERT 
trainings.  Contact Dr. Marilyn Simunich at 
msimunich@agri.idaho.gov or see the Department of 
Agriculture website at www.agri.idaho.gov under 
Animals > Emergency Management. 
 
Additional ISDA Animal Industries Program contacts: 
Dr. Scott Leibsle – deputy state veterinarian and all 
animal health/care issues, equine diseases, animal 
regulations 
Dr. Deb Lawrence – brucellosis, trichomoniasis, 
traceability, scrapie genotyping, deleterious/exotic 
spp., fish health 
Dr. Marilyn Simunich – lab tests, rabies/ zoonotic 
diseases, equine, Johne’s disease, National Poultry 
Improvement Plan 
Dr. Tom Williams – Eastern Idaho Field Veterinarian 
Dr. Scott Barnes – Northern Idaho Field Veterinarian 

http://www.agri.idaho.gov/
http://www.agri.idaho.gov/
http://www.aphis.usda.gov/
http://www.globalvetlink.com/
mailto:msimunich@agri.idaho.gov
http://www.agri.idaho.gov/
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